Subtle Shifts in Awareness Bring Huge Rewards

“Everything you need to do to transform your life is easy to do.  It’s easy to become healthy, fit and vibrant.  It’s easy to become financially independent.  It’s easy to have a happy family and a life rich with meaningful friendships.  It’s just a matter of mastering the mundane – of repeating simple little disciplines, that done consistently over time, will add up to the very biggest accomplishments.”  
~Jeff Olson, The Slight Edge

Over the weekend, I attended my first Baptiste Yoga training, Advanced Art of Assisting.  I thoroughly enjoyed it!  Baptiste is a completely different style of yoga than I have practiced and it was refreshing.  I found that I enjoyed the playful, adventurous nature of the students and the type of practice (heated, power yoga).  In a hot room with a full yoga practice going on with 35 other students, taking yourself too seriously or overthinking becomes unattainable.  Getting through becomes the only goal; not getting through in the most expressive version of the pose but just getting through in whatever modified pose or position you can manage to attain.  It was quite honestly, a bit of a revolution for me.

I not only learned about the practice of hot yoga, but I also learned more about my own alignment and how much more yoga there is to experience!  I came away with a few subtle shifts that dramatically changed my practice and will eventually change my body in a better, healthier way.

I also learned that I had some preconceived notions that weren’t exactly accurate.  I will be honest, I was hesitant to fully endorse the practice of hot yoga.  I felt that it was too extreme to be completely healthy for the body.  After experiencing it firsthand, I am “warming” up to it.  I don’t think I will practice heated yoga as my regular practice, but as a way to get out of my head and just challenge my body, I will throw it into the mix.

The weekend yoga sessions actually took me back to my martial arts days.  When we trained for Taekwondo, we trained hard and my teacher always heated the room somewhat.  We practiced in full uniform and it was not unlike heated yoga.  In some ways, the trip down memory lane brought back some difficult memories for me but also reminded me of just how tough I can be.

How will you subtly shift your focus this week?  Perhaps you have some preconceived notions that are holding you back.  Maybe the only way to figure out if your thoughts are accurate is to dive in and see for yourself.

Have a great week!

Namaste & Pilsung,

Susie

2 responses

  1. I have been practicing hot yoga too! The studio had an intro offer for a month so I’ve been going for 2 weeks now. I’ve never been into hot yoga…the last time I took it was Bikram years ago and it was unbearable. This time around (at another studio) they don’t keep the temp as hot, but it still makes me sweat buckets (I look like I’ve jumped into the swimming pool!). I’ll stick to it for the rest of the 30 days, but I don’t think I’ll continue with hot yoga. I like to sweat, but the intensity with the heat is too much for me.

  2. I don’t mind the heat occasionally but I’m with you. It can be too much at times :)

Please share your thoughts!

