Begin Afresh and Dream. “Dream,” I say, “Dream!”

“New Year’s Day.  A fresh start.  A new chapter in life waiting to be written.  New questions to be asked, embraced and loved.  Answers to be discovered and then lived in this transformative year of delight and self-discovery.  Today carve out a quiet interlude for yourself in which to dream, pen in hand.  Only dreams give birth to change.”  ~Sarah Ban Breathnach

2015 is here.  It is hard to believe in some ways, and yet, in other ways it feels so right, so now.  As I ruminate on the future of Warsaw’s Secret Fitness and how I envision it, I realize that it all began years ago with a dream.  The moment I stepped onto the floor of the dojo (martial arts studio) in 2001, I had no idea what lay in store for me.  The moment of stepping outside of my comfort zone, strapping on a gi (uniform) and stepping into the full experience of sparring 200+ lb men, spending an entire 3 1/2 years completely consumed with forms, breaking boards, sparring strategy and mentally wanting to quit but wanting the blackbelt more, transformed me.  And so it is true, a journey of a 1,000 miles begins with a single step.

At many times throughout my journey of the last 14 years, I have often said that had I known then what I know now, I might have decided to stay inside of my comfort zone, skipping the journey entirely.  As time has progressed, though, and as I have come into a deeper part of my journey, away from the physical and more into the mental and spiritual aspects, I can say with certitude that I would make that first, tenuous step all over again because the journey has not only transformed my body, it has transformed my life; the journey actually built my life.  Warsaw’s Secret Fitness Studio would have never been conceived, dreamed or built without that first step.

Do you want to start afresh in your own life?  Do you want to transform yourself from the outside in or the inside out?  Then take take a leap of faith and begin your own journey.  Step out with courage and then hold on tight.  The ride will be wilder than your imagination but it will lead you to destinations untold, unforeseen, and unforgettable!  Many times we may miss a great opportunity by choosing to “stay the course” and to not “rock the boat.”  Today, throw away those limiting thoughts and feelings and instead, embrace chance and mystery.

Begin afresh and dream.  I say, “Dream!”

2 responses

  1. I’m always up to begin again! There’s a freshness filled with excitement that inspires me to make things happen. And taking that first step is crucial…I think that it’s actually easier to take it just one step at a time…otherwise I get overwhelmed. Plus this leaves room for change and going with the flow. Happy New Year, Susie! I really enjoyed reading this post and learning about how it began for you.

    1. I know what you mean about beginning again. Sometimes it is definitely easier to take the next challenging step in front of us instead of looking up toward the top of the mountain that we still have to climb. Glad you enjoyed the post. Thanks for stopping by!

Please share your thoughts!

