Change is in the Air – Cleanse Your Space

“For the past 33 years, I have looked in the mirror and asked myself:  ‘If today were the last day of my life, would I want to do what I am about to do today?’ and when the answer has been, ‘No’ for too may days in a row, I know I need to change something.” ~Steve Jobs

My husband and I spent the weekend changing our house around.  We moved our bedroom from upstairs to downstairs, and I am in the process of making the newly opened upstairs a place for reading, study and yoga.  The change was a lot of work and we spent the better part of the day moving furniture, cleaning and clearing.

As we moved our items, I found many that were just taking up space and were no longer useful to me; in fact, I am not sure they were ever useful or used by me.  Strange that I would keep them but I must have rationalized at some point that I would find a use for them.  Instead, they were taking up valuable space, time and energy.  In allowing these unused items to occupy space in my home, I was adding unnecessary stress because they were actually clutter.

In yoga, there are certain guidelines with which we are supposed to align ourselves.  Beauty, organization and self-discipline are all valuable and meaningful as we move into our journey of self-discovery through yoga.  We cannot find peace, ease or tranquility without a space that offers peace, ease and tranquility.  Even if we only have one corner in our home, office or car, yoga teaches us to respect and honor it through care and cleanliness, just as we care for and cleanse our bodies.

We have a society that makes it very easy to become inundated with clutter; clothes, electronics, chargers, batteries, books, and games.  We can become so buried with broken, outdated,  and unused things that we find ourselves slipping down into depression.  The mental weight of the clutter is very real and sucks our positive energy.

Instead of looking around at your home, car, or desk and feeling overwhelmed by the clutter, take steps to change it.  Begin with a small garbage bag and ask yourself in the Steve Jobs’s way, “If this were the last day of my life, would I want to spend it in this space?”  If the answer is no, then it’s time to change it.  Begin small and let the power and beauty of the simplicity of yoga be your guide: Items needed:  me and my mat.

Namaste,

Susie

4 responses

    1. Thanks Margy! Change can be a lot of work but so worth it in the end :)

  1. What an inspiring message to start the day – Thank you!

    1. Thanks! Sometimes “things” really get in our way :)

Please share your thoughts!

