Playing on the Edge is Fun!

“Things can fall apart, or threaten to, for many reasons, and then there’s got to be a leap of faith.  Ultimately, when you’re at the edge, you have to go forward or backward; if you go forward,  you have to jump together.”  ~Yo-Yo Ma

At Warsaw’s Secret Fitness Studio, we play our edge, but not often.  I think that in general, our society plays the edge of their fitness and and the limits of their bodies a little too often.  It’s not that I don’t believe in playing the edge; I do.  I just believe that in all endeavors, we should give ourselves the biggest chance for success by putting the odds in our favor.

As a personal trainer and teacher, I believe in calculated risk.  When we play our edge, we are gambling that we can go farther without injury, and by pushing harder, we will gain something meaningful (faster, stronger, more flexible, etc.).  Calculated risks means that we have considered fully both the consequences and benefits of our actions.  When we push too hard too soon, we risk injury.  When we quit before we’re spent, we sputter and become stagnant or lose our motivation altogether.

In the last three weeks, I have been pushing myself with kettlebells.  I have picked up heavier bells and have been more consistent with my workouts.  The increase in my speed, endurance and strength has been amazing!  When I completed a full 100-snatch challenge in four minutes and thirty-five seconds, I knew that I had gone beyond my edge and had set a new limit that I will cross over, in time.

Within each of us, we have mental and physical limits.  Our mental limits can often set our physical limits below our capabilities.  We each have much more inside of us than we realize.  A challenge that we approach with common sense, confidence and a strong work ethic may lead to greater things in all areas of our lives!

Set a challenging goal for yourself today.  Take inventory.  Plan.  Prepare. Work hard.  Remember that the edge only comes into sight after the work has been completed.  When you finally see the edge come into focus, leap over it with a sense of freedom and fun!

Namaste,

Susie

Please share your thoughts!

