The Vessels – A Poem About Teaching

As I spent my next to last weekend in teacher training with Mimi Ray Yoga at Expressions of Grace in Grand Rapids, Michigan, I woke up with this poem.  I have always taken my teaching responsibilities very seriously.  This poem highlights our duties when we take on the role of teacher – in whatever fashion it may be – school teacher, fitness instructor, yoga teacher, pastor.  We have an awesome responsibility that is also an amazingly rich experience.  I hope you enjoy the poem.

The Vessels

Each morning I fill them
Empty vessels, waiting.
I carefully add, drop by drop,
until they can hold no more.

Each day they expand;
A little more room to fill
But all that has been added before
Remains.

Sometimes I overflow them,
Accidentally overzealous.
Spewing down the sides,
The precious vessels
Become stagnant and discolored.

I lovingly clean them.
With great kindness and care,
They renew.
I commence again.

Namaste,

Susie

9 responses

  1. Lovely, just lovely. ☺

    1. Thank you Toni! Glad you enjoyed it :)

  2. Love this, so much!

    1. Thanks MIchelle! It’s weird how these things just come up. I am not really a poet but words come randomly to me at times and I felt led to share.

  3. Awesome… Deserves a reblog. :)

    1. Thank you. I am glad you enjoyed it. Being a teacher is definitely a huge (and important) responsibility!

  4. being a teacher myself, this is brilliant. it really captures what we go through each and every day. thank you =)

    1. Thank you for your comment, Adele, and for the reblog! I had a fabulous Taekwondo teacher who always told us that “a baby can eat a whole jar of baby food, just not all at once.” He always tried to get us to focus on the basics and fill new students with only what they could handle and absorb. I have tried to live by that thought when I teach, but being human, I do sometimes overload my students – hence the poem. :) Have a great day!

  5. Reblogged this on An unfiltered musing and commented:
    for my fellow teachers

Please share your thoughts!

