Believe! If You Don’t Believe in Yourself, Who Will?

susie

“First, do enough training.  Then believe in yourself and say:  I can do it.  Tomorrow is my day.  Then say:  the person in front of me, he is just a human being as well; he has two legs, I have two legs, that is all. That is mentally how you prepare.”   ~ Haile Gebrselassie

To achieve anything lasting and fulfilling in our lives, we must believe.  We must believe in ourselves and in our dreams enough to put ourselves “out there” in a way that is vulnerable, human and frail.  We cannot believe in others, believe in justice, believe in anything at all, until we are able to look in the mirror and believe in the person peering back at us.

The definition for “believe” is to accept (something) as the truth.  If we are to chase our dreams, if we are to be supportive of our family during difficult times, if we are to be good mothers, daughters, fathers, sons, friends, and co-workers, we must believe in the fact that we are good enough just as we are.  We do not need anyone else to accept us or to believe in us so much as we need our own sense of validity and belief.

If you believe and desire to break free from your self-defeating attitude, you can!  You must plant the idea, in spite of what others may say or do, that you are a child of God and that you are loved.  You were put on this earth for a reason.  You are enough.  You are more than your body and mind.  You are more than you realize.

To sum it up, I leave you with one of my favorite quotes from the best teacher I ever had the privilege of training under, my Taekwondo teacher.

“I don’t believe that I am better than anyone else, but I also don’t believe that anyone else is better than me.” ~Mr. Don Wallen

Namaste,

Susie

4 responses

  1. Thanks Susie! Words to live by!

    1. Thank you for the encouragement and for stopping by my blog :)

  2. This is a very useful resource of information. I hope you keep up the good work.

    1. Thanks so much for the kind comment!

Please share your thoughts!

